Christ Church College (Matale)

Christ Church College (Sinhala: මාතලේ ක්‍රිස්තුදේව ජාතික පාසල) is a government mixed school situated in Matale, Sri Lanka. Controlled by the Kurunegala Archdiocese, it is considered the first English school belonging to the Anglican Church (Abeywardana, 2004).

The college was established in 1864 and a vernacular school was also established on the same premises later providing education in English to students of Sinhala, Tamil and Muslim. In 1912, the Boys Scout Movement was established due to the efforts of R.G. Stevenson, the District Engineer of Matale (Abeywardana, 2004).

Notable alumni
#) Don Stephen Senanayake: First Prime Minister of Sri Lanka (1947-1952)
#) William Gopallawa - First President of Sri Lanka (1972–1978)
#) H.B. Udurawana: Diyawadana Nilame (1964-1975)

At present, the school has common facilities such as classrooms, laboratories, libraries, a playground etc. It is the first school in the country that commenced Hockey.

1) Abeywardana, H.A.P., 2004. Heritage of Kandurata: Major natural, cultural and historic sites. Colombo: The Central Bank of Sri Lanka.  pp.137-138.

Explore Other Nearby Attractions
Location Map (Google)
This page was last updated on 9 March 2023

Post a Comment

Cookie Consent
We serve cookies on this site to analyze traffic, remember your preferences, and optimize your experience.
It seems there is something wrong with your internet connection. Please connect to the internet and start browsing again.
AdBlock Detected!
We have detected that you are using adblocking plugin in your browser.
The revenue we earn by the advertisements is used to manage this website, we request you to whitelist our website in your adblocking plugin.
Site is Blocked
Sorry! This site is not available in your country.