Lahugala Kitulana National Park

Lahugala Kitulana National Park
Lahugala Kitulana National Park is a national park situated in the basin of the Heda Oya in Eastern Province, Sri Lanka. It is considered one of the smallest national parks in the country (Green, 1990).

The park was originally established as a sanctuary on 1 July 1966 and was designated as a national park on 31 October 1980 (Green, 1990).

Physical features & climate
The total area of the park is 1,554 ha (Ahamed, 2015; Green, 1990; Santiapillai, 1997). It contains the reservoirs of Lahugala, Kitulana and Sengamuwa and they are ultimately emptied into the Heda Oya river (Ahamed, 2015; Green, 1990). The mean annual rainfall of the area is about 1,650 mm and the Northeast monsoon persists from the months of November to December (Ahamed, 2015; Green, 1990). Two dry periods last from May to October and January to March (Ahamed, 2015; Green, 1990).

The national park’s vegetation is classified into Sri Lanka dry-zone dry evergreen forests (Ahamed, 2015).

1) Ahamed, A.R., 2015. Activity time budget of the Asian elephant (Elephas maximus Linn.) in the wild. Trends in Biosciences, 8(12), pp.3024-3028.
2) Green, M.J.B. ed., 1990. IUCN directory of South Asian protected areas. IUCN. pp.226-228.
3) Santiapillai, C., 1997. The Asian elephant conservation: A global strategy. Gajah, 18, pp.21-39.

Location Map
This page was last updated on 2 May 2022
For a complete tourist map follow this link: Lankapradeepa Tourist Map
Previous Post Next Post